Why You Shouldn’t Fear Creativity

Forest

 

Creativity isn’t easy or is it? What does it take to be creative? I think too many people who want to be creative get lost in pursuit of creativity due to fear of not being able to be creative. The fear of creativity is like getting behind the wheel for the first time. You think you know what to expect, but you just don’t really know. Finding your creativity isn’t as hard nor should it be as scary as people make it out to be. 

I remember for years I was afraid to draw again. I was seriously terrified. I would sit on the couch with a piece of paper and pencil and just stare at the paper and hope I could just draw something. Nothing. The paper stared back. I simply was scared. I can remember my wife sitting next to me just shaking her head in silent encouragement.

I feared what others would think.

I feared I wouldn’t live up to my standards.

Creativity Shouldn’t be Feared

I realized what was holding me back. It’s been said before, but I couldn’t see the forest through the trees. I was too focused on short-term success. I wanted instant gratification. I wanted people to like my art immediately. In today’s connected existence, I could easily fill that need. I knew I could post to Instagram and Facebook an immediately know what other’s thought. I still held back.

I feared rejection and the possibility of being laughed at instantly. Many times over. Little thumb-down clicks all over.

What I realized was I needed to set a goal. A long-term goal. Something so far down the road, that I could barely see it. Once I looked at the forest, the big-picture, I then realized what it was I truly wanted from my art. No one should fear their creativity.

“Don’t settle for mediocrity, but don’t be afraid to experiment.”

There comes a point where a creative just needs to let go and explore their creativity. Simply draw, paint, write, whatever. Never hold back. Don’t settle for mediocrity, but don’t be afraid to experiment. Art and creating in general is really an experiment. We don’t know what the outcome will be, but we have to try. If nothing else, you will be happy you tried.

Don’t fear creativity. The only thing we have to fear…is fear itself, right?

 

Why You Shouldn’t Fear Creativity was originally published on Vincent Vicari Art

Leave a Reply

