5 Things I learned From Drawing Every Day

Drawing

A few months ago I realized the best way for me to improve my art was to make drawing a habit. I dreaded the idea. I know practice makes perfect, but I really didn’t think I could commit to daily drawing.

Then one day I picked up the pencil and started drawing. Day 1.

Then the next. Day 2.

And the next. Nothing extravagant, twenty minutes. Maybe half an hour if I was lucky.

As a result, I’ve never been happier. 

My daily drawing habit isn’t really a habit yet.

I’ve read a habit forms with the minimum of doing something for 662 consecutive days. But can take up to 500 days.

In other words, I have much more work to do. But it’s not a numbers game. It’s about the work, the practice, the effort. It’s about happiness.

Drawing Daily and Daily Happiness

I’ve had a blast so far, drawing and doodling randomly. Sometimes it’s a mandala or two, sometimes just any crazy thing that pops into my mind. But I’ve learned a few things, well, five really from my daily drawing.

Patience Is a Virtue

I’ve never been known for my patience. I want results and want them immediately. But, success doesn’t happen overnight. Regardless of what we do, anything worth doing takes effort. Drawing takes a measure of patience.

I’ve done enough daily drawing now that the patience needed to make my lines, crossed-over to my daily life.

This new found patience now helps me with my day job responsibilities, my family, and friends. My drawing habit now touches all other aspects of my life.

 

Thinking Everyday

My daily drawing now forces me to think. This thinking is different than thinking about facts or figures.

It’s problem-solving on steroids.

It’s up to my mind, and my mind only to create what I’m drawing. If some design aspect isn’t working, then, I have to fix it. I have to think.

I can feel my cerebrum humming along as I design and design some more. Drawing is great brain exercise.

 

Drawing

 

I Get to Build Daily

I’m not always the best when swinging a hammer. I can do what I need to do, but I prefer building with graphite and lead.

Humans are meant to use their hands to build. We build everything from buildings, cars, wagons, to TVs. You get the idea. Drawing is building. Most drawings are flat and linear.

Some drawings are three-dimensional.

But it’s all building. Each line is another block in the structure of the design. I’m a builder. How cool is that?

 

“Always do your best. What you plant now, you will harvest later.”

Og Mandino

 

Less Stress

Drawing is one of the most stress-relieving things I’ve ever done. I get to do whatever I want, whenever I want. I just sketch my ideas. Being able to express myself in any way I want, relieves the stress of daily life.

Less stress equals better health. Remember that great brain exercise?

Physically, I feel great after drawing. A great thing.

 

I’m Fulfilling A Dream

I’ve always wanted to create. One day, who knows, maybe I’ll be able to pay the bills with my art.

But for now, I’m fulfilling a dream. Practicing my craft every day is one day closer to that dream. Creating art is a dream and when we pursue our dreams, we are being as human as we can be.

Drawing daily is daily creativity. Exploring creativity every day makes me happier and healthier.

Wrap Up

Building a daily, positive habit isn’t easy. Pushing oneself each day to achieve something is purposeful. The rewards are massive. It’s a risk, but less stress, better relationships, creating and building with patience, makes us better humans.

Build your habit. Start today. Day 1. Don’t worry about day 2. Just start. Focus each day. Each day is a new day. Before you know it, you will be on day 66. Day 100. You get the idea.

Now go. Start.

Thanks for reading! What daily habit do you want to start?

5 Things I learned From Drawing Every Day was originally published on Vincent Vicari Art

Leave a Reply

