How Being An Introvert Won’t Stop Your Artistic Success

Introvert
Photo by Lee Key via Unsplash.com

Is artistic success attainable if you’re an introvert? Is success in any field or industry? Ask Bill Gates, Albert Einstein, Rosa Parks or Mark Zuckerberg.

Yes, you can be an introvert and successful at the same time. If you’re an artist or creative of any kind, being introverted is a business advantage in my opinion.

Let’s not be shy about this. 

Webster’s defines an introvert as a “reserved or shy person.” For artistic individuals, it’s our art that lets us shrug off the shyness. Art is an expression after all.

As a creative entrepreneur, your business revolves around your art. Business requires a level of social engagement that for introverted individuals, can be hard to do.

But that’s OK.

Let Your Art Do The Talking

I myself take a while to open up to others. In group settings, I get choked-up every time. And I’ve spoken in front of many groups. If I had my way, I would interact with small groups, 4-5 individuals at once.

But that’s not always possible and when working in an office setting or promoting work, it’s nearly impossible.

Now inject the art.

I’m most comfortable when letting my art speak. What do I mean by?

I focus my emotions in my artwork. My work is more than just lines. My art is a reflection of what I’m thinking and feeling. It’s as if I was using words to describe my thoughts.

Instead, it’s visual. Einstein used science. Gates made code and hardware sync. Parks let her actions do the talking.

These quiet individuals spoke volumes and literally changed the world.

Instead of worrying about what to say next or how to verbally promote your work, let your work speak for you. Don’t be shy now.

The Introverted Creative Entrepreneur

We tend to believe the outgoing, extroverted individuals are more successful. This idea that the life of the party is the most successful doesn’t need to be the rule.

Some of us just aren’t wired that way.

What if I told you being the most outgoing, doesn’t mean you’re the one with the most substance? Being a professional isn’t a popularity contest.

Professionalism is acting the part of success.

Creative entrepreneurs are usually solopreneurs. You are your brand and your brand is only as good as your character. This is where being an introvert is an asset.

It’s not your words or actions that impacts your business, as much as it is what you don’t say or do. Knowing when to restrain yourself and hold back can make or break your business.

Remember how introverts are reserved? That reservation isn’t and shouldn’t be seen as an obstacle to success. Quite the opposite. That reservation can be the difference between the right words or actions or disaster.

Once something is said or done, it can’t be taken away no matter how many times you try.

Everyone remembers. Emails are archived. Tweets still remain on timelines.

Last I checked, the New York Times still publishes once a day.

Don’t Lose Sight Of The Journey

 

“Introverts are more effective leaders of proactive employees. When you have a creative, energetic workforce, an introvert is going to draw out that energy better.”

-Laurie Helgoe 

The introverted artist brings out the energy of their creations. When I draw, I’m pulling the design and image I see in the paper out into the open.

The writer does the same with words.

Introverts naturally attract energy because others want to see what’s inside. Creativity and the creative business is a true journey. Don’t lose sight of what you want to create and where you want to go.

Wrap Up

If you’re an introvert, don’t let that stop you from selling your artwork. Let your work do the talking for you. Learn to realize success comes through your creative expression.

Introverts have a unique advantage in business because being reserved forces you to think about your words and actions. Risk taking is necessary, but some thought in your decisions is just as important.

Introverts are some of the most successful people, ever. So keep your thoughts to yourself and keep drawing, painting, singing, and coding!

Are you an introvert? How do you pursue your dreams? 

Thank you for reading and I’m always interested in your thoughts. Feel free to share in comments. 

 

How Being An Introvert Won’t Stop Your Artistic Success was originally published on Vincent Vicari Art

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Great read, and I 100% agree. Being an introvert hasn’t stopped me from doing anything. In fact, I see every social and public speaking opportunity as a chance to improve myself and to become a more outgoing person (when it is necessary). There are plus points to each side, introvert and extrovert, we’ve just got to learn to use our strengths to our advantage, whatever these may be.

    I’d love to see your article on our platform, Creators.co. I think our audience would find it a very interesting read. Would you be interested in becoming a Creator? I’d love to hear from you. All the best!

    1. Thank you Chara! Yes, I would be interested in becoming a Creator. What do I need to do?

      1. Hi Vincent, thanks for responding to my comment. Would you mind sharing your e-mail with me so I can shoot you an e-mail with some more information? Looking forward to hearing from you.

  2. hilda5462 says:

    Yes thanks, I AM an Introvert!! and I am working every day to be an advocate for all introverts, because, those extroverts just think they rule the world (or maybe just certain countries!) Ever read that book by Susan Cain, Marti Olsen Laney or Michela Chung ? I find as long as I keep an eye on how much alone time I am getting I can pretty much do anything I want, I just have to dare myself to do it and be prepared to have a lot of recovery time afterwards. This was an interesting read, THANKS!

    1. Thanks reading! I’ll have to check out the read.

Leave a Reply

