Do You Want To Be A Better Artist?

Creativity

Do you want to know what makes you a better artist? So do I. Let me know when you find someone with the answer. If you’re like me, you struggle with creativity and making exactly what you want.

Do you ask yourself daily what holds your creativity back? What obstacles do you struggle to overcome when creating? Look, this creative lifestyle, this making stuff thing is hard.

It’s supposed to be hard. I’ve said it before, anything worth doing is challenging. It’s difficult whether you do this as a full-time job or a side gig, creativity is a journey. Not a destination.

I apologize for the philosophical rant about creativity, but without some real-self talk, we’re only holding ourselves back. Let’s get on with some art.

Creating a Mandala

I spend time making mandalas. I love drawing them as you may know and wish I spent more time doing it. More times than I care to admit, I ask myself what will make me a better mandala artist. How can I improve my craft. Better (aka more expensive) pencils? A bigger eraser (I erase…a lot.) More sketchpads?

I’ll do more sketchpads because that will actually make me a better artist. The point I’m making is don’t fall for the idea that newer, better supplies, or drawing a specific thing all the time is the best way to improve as an artist.

Each mandala I create has the basic circles and concepts.

Better Artist
Copyright V. Vicari 2019

But to make my mandalas better, I draw other things too, like flowers:

Better Artist
Colorful Flower Mandala

You see, drawing different things improves your skills when drawing the thing you truly love to draw. It’s practice and experimenting that make the artist better.

Drawing different things improves your skills when drawing the thing you truly love to draw.

So try challenging yourself. Don’t hold yourself back.

A Better Artist Experiments

Experimenting with my art was something I never liked to do. I didn’t want to deviate from what felt normal to me. If I could get away with drawing nothing but circles, the creative life would be grand.

Except here’s the thing, circles get boring after a while. I don’t doubt some very cool, creative pieces of art have been created just out of circles, but I wanted more. A triangle? A square? To become a better artist, the artist must step outside the box, or circle depending on your perspective.

I feel creativity isn’t containable. One of the most spontaneous aspects of us as humans is our ability to be creative. As artists we hold the key to pursue creativity. It’s as if civilization crowned us the keepers of creativity. Yet, we struggle to improve our craft. We struggle to become better artists and keepers of the creative path.

Experimenting with different ideas, shapes, designs, words, notes is scary. It’s that fear that drives us though. Not some new art supply or piece of equipment.

It’s that fear that drives us though.

If you struggle with your creativity, experiment with something new. Just try it. If you draw, make some photographs. If you sing, write poetry. Trying something different, stepping outside your normal is a step in becoming a better artist.

Conclusion

Doing the different thing, experimenting with your creativity will make you a better artist. Yes, simply by default you will improve. Remember your success as an artist is what you make it.

No fancy pencil or set of brushes or expensive camera will make you a better artist. You will make you a better artist. I know that’s all happy and fluffy but it’s true. I don’t know how to say it. You need to experiment. Tell me about your experimenting in comments below if you wish, I would love to hear them. If nothing else, I hope you find the practice to be enjoyable. Now go. Do.

P.S. A little inspiration goes a long way. You can get some original wall art such as a Cracked Mandala poster here. Or grab a Wander t-shirt for that next outdoor adventure of yours.

As always, thank you for reading. If you know someone who would enjoy reading, please feel free to share this post. Cheers!

Do You Want To Be A Better Artist? was originally published on Vincent Vicari Art

Leave a comment